AHAM Standards

AHAM, an accredited standards development organization, maintains 25 active performance and sustainability standards covering a full range of home appliances. AHAM performance standards aim to establish common methods of testing home appliances, so as to provide common information on the major performance attributes of the products. AHAM sustainability standards give manufacturers, consumers, retailers and other stakeholders a technically based methodology to assess the relative environmental impacts of home appliances. Here’s the full list of AHAM standards.

Major Appliance Standards - March 2020

Appliance Category

Standards Designation



Clothes Dryers

AHAM HLD -1-2010 (currently under revision)

Clothes Washers

AHAM HLW-1-2013 (currently under revision)


AHAM DH-1-2017 



Electric Ranges

AHAM ER-1-2017

Oven Volume

AHAM OV-1-2011(R2016)

Food Waste Disposers

AHAM FWD-1-2016


AHAM HRF-1-2019

Room Air Conditioners

AHAM RAC-1-2019

Portable Air Conditioners


Trash Compactors

AHAM TC-1-2012 (R2016)

Smart Appliances

AHAM SA-1-2014

Sustainability Standard for Refrigeration Appliances

AHAM 7001.2-2014

Sustainability Standard for Clothes Washers

AHAM 7003-2015

Sustainability Standard for Cooking Appliances

AHAM 7004-2015

Portable Appliance Standards - March 2020

Appliance Category

Standards Designation

Coffee Makers

AHAM CM-1-2017


AHAM HU-1-2016


AHAM I-1- (R2016)

Room Air Cleaners—CADR

AHAM AC-1-2019

Room Air Cleaners—Sound

AHAM AC-2-2006 (R2016)

Room Air Cleaners—Accelerated Loading

AHAM AC-3-2009 (R2016)

Slow Cookers

AHAM SC-1-2007 (R2016)


AHAM T-1-2016

Sustainability Standard for Portable and Floor Care Appliances

AHAM 7002-2014

Floor Care Appliances - 
April 2016

Appliance Category

Standards Designation

Sustainability Standard for Portable and Floor Care Appliances

AHAM 7002-2014